Aliens Colonial Marines: Xbox 360 review

I mean its like somebody is shitting in my eyes. Please, just look really close, you don’t see shit?

So Colonial Marines then, it’s hard to know where to start really, the game had been in development for quite a while and at one point was actually meant for the Playstation 2. I had high hopes for it as a lover of the Aliens franchise (even 3 and 4 were enjoyable in their own way) and the original story trailer released at the tail end of 2012 actually managed to make me more excited seeing as it became apparent that Michael Biehn and Lance Henriksen were reprising their roles from Aliens in some capacity.

I preordered the game, picked up up and fired it up only to be greeted by the biggest mess of a game I have ever played, the graphics were appalling and would have been terrible in the PS2s era much less in the same time period as games like Journey, it was buggy as hell with the energy bar seeming to deplete for no reason and with the added bonus of the game repeatedly killing you because the weapons don’t seem to aim properly. The only positive thing I can say for it on any level is that the sound is very good, the pusle rifle sounds authentic but on the whole it just seems as if the people who developed it deliberately ignored 10 years of progress in the first person shooter genre and released a half finished game with a view to cashing in before word of mouth killed it.

20130401-151346.jpg

The game was so bad that I took it back a week later to try and return and when I was told I had to trade it at a significant loss I didn’t argue the point as at this point I was just desperate to be rid of it.

All in all I would rate it at 0 out of 10. It’s insulting that a game can be released in this shape in this day and age, Lopez Green.

About GamepadGlory

Celebrating the golden days of gaming and stomping on its head.

Posted on April 1, 2013, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Totally spot on Review and whats more, the 0 out of 10 is still being generous. HA.

  2. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to
    be happy. I have learn this submit and if I may I want to recommend
    you some attention-grabbing things or tips. Maybe you could write subsequent
    articles referring to this article. I desire to read more issues about it!

Leave a Reply

